Now all roads lead to France and heavy is the tread
Of the living; but the dead returning lightly dance.
Edward Thomas, Roads

Friday, March 25, 2022

2021 Tomlinson Prize for Best World War One Books Announced


Heather Jones, Maartje Abbenhuis, Ismee Tames, and Graydon Tunstall awarded the 2021 Tomlinson prize for their World War One books; Honorable Mention goes to Anna Maguire
The World War One Historical Association (WW1HA) annual Norman B. Tomlinson, Jr., prize for 2021 for the best work of history in English on World War One (1914-1918) has been awarded to five exceptional historians:
Heather Jones, Professor in Modern and Contemporary European History at University College London, author of For King and Country: The British Monarchy and the First World War (Cambridge University Press)

Maartje Abbenhuis, Professor in Modern History at the University of Auckland, New Zealand – and Ismee Tames, Professor in History at Utrecht University and Senior Researcher at NIOD, Institute for War, Holocaust and Genocide Studies in Amsterdam, The Netherlands – co-authors of Global War, Global Catastrophe: Neutrals, Belligerents and the Transformation of the First World War (Bloomsbury Collections)

Graydon A. Tunstall, retired Senior Lecturer of History at the University of South Florida and the Executive Director for Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society, for The Austro-Hungarian Army and the First World War (Cambridge University Press)

For the fourth year in a row the Honorable Mention category was also awarded:
Anna Maguire, Queen Mary University of London historian, for her Contact Zones of the First World War: Cultural Encounters across the British Empire (Cambridge University Press)

This is the seventh time that multiple books won the Tomlinson prize. Three 2018 titles shared the award presented in 2019, three books published in 2016 shared the 2017 award, and three 2010 titles also shared the award presented in 2011. Two books published in 2019 received the award in 2020, and two 2017 books received the award in 2018. The Tomlinson prize started in 1999.

The Tomlinson prize consists of a cash award and original bronze plaque sculpted by Andrew L. Chernak, a U.S. Army Vietnam War veteran whose sculptures are installed at Arlington National Cemetery and in state and private parks:

Honorable Mention awards consist of an original bronze plaque sculpted by Chernak.

Both awards are made possible through a grant from Norman B. Tomlinson, Jr., director emeritus of The Western Front Association – United States Branch. (WFA-US became the World War One Historical Association in 2011.)

Historians Graydon Tunstall, Michael Neiberg, and Heather Streets-Salter, plus editor of the WW1HA Tomlinson Prize Review of World War One Books Dana Lombardy form the prize jury for the Norman B. Tomlinson Prize.

Normally the prize is awarded in the year following the calendar year of publication, but there are occasional exceptions to that policy. For information on how to submit books for the prize, email or

Previous Tomlinson award winners and information about the World War One Historical Association can be found at the-tomlinson-book-prize.
PO Box 10777
490 Lake Park Avenue
Oakland, CA 94610


  1. Congratulations to the winners!
    They each look like fascinating books.

  2. These awards show that scholarship and publishing on the Great War are still well and flourishing. The Tomlinson award is an excellent means of showing this.